Page 1 of 2

Help with custom weapons

Posted: Thu Jul 15, 2010 1:25 am
by ShadowX99
Im having a problem with my custom weapons, when ever i try to select them they dont allow me to, I think it has to do with "missing { in file scripts (*autoAim*)

Anyone know how to fix this?

Posted: Thu Jul 15, 2010 4:40 am
by Neico
wrong forum, moved...

also: without a little insight of how your script looks like is it quite hard to see where the problem is

Posted: Thu Jul 15, 2010 5:19 pm
by ShadowX99
Here is what my script looks like

Code: Select all

"WeaponData"
{
	// Weapon data is loaded by both the Game and client DLLs.
	"printname"			"F2000"
	"viewmodel"			"models/weapons/V_lam_elf.mdl"
	"playermodel"			"models/weapons/W_lam_elf.mdl"
	"anim_prefix"			"ar2"
	"bucket"			"2"
	"bucket_position"		"17"

	"clip_size"			"30"
	"clip2_size"			"0"

	"default_clip"			"30"
	"default_clip2"			"0"

	"primary_ammo"			"ar2"
	"secondary_ammo"		"none"

	"weight"			"0"
	"item_flags"			"0"

	"BuiltRightHanded"		"0"
	"AllowFlipping			"1"

	"csviewmodel"			"1"
	
	// Sounds for the weapon. There is a max of 16 sounds per category (i.e. max 16 "single_shot" sounds)
	"SoundData"
	{
		"reaload_npc"		"Weapon_AR2.NPC_Reload"
		"empty"			"Default.ClipEmpty_Rifle"
		"single_shot"		"weapon_F2000.Single"
		"single_shot_npc"	"weapon_F2000.Single"
		//Zoom in
		"special1"		"Default.Zoom"
		//Zoom out
		"special2"		"Default.Zoom"
	}

	// Weapon Sprite data is loaded by the Client DLL.
	"TextureData"
	{
		"weapon"
		{
				"font"		"CSWeaponIcons"
				"character"	"e"
		}
		"weapon_s"
		{
				"font"		"CSWeaponIconsSelected"
				"character"	"e"
		}
		"ammo"
		{
				"font"		"WeaponIcons"
				"character	"u"
		}
		"crosshair"
		{
				"font"		"Crosshairs"
				"character"	"Q"
		}
		"autoaim"
		{
				"file"		"sprites/crosshairs"
				"x"			"0"
				"y"			"48"
				"width"		"24"
				"height"	"24"
		}
	}
	"Advanced" // only for Weapon_Scripted
	{

	// **Primary Attack**
	
		// 0 = none, 1 = Basic Bullet, 2 = Burst, 3 = shotgun, 4 = autoshotgun, 5 = laser, 6 = warp
		"FireType1"	"1"


		// Rate of Weapons Fire ( Not for laser or warp )
		"FireRate1"	"0.1"

		// Allow a refire as fast as the player can click, Basic Bullet Only.
		"FastFire1"	"0"

		// Allow Fire Underwater?
		"FireUnderWater1"	"0"

		// For Bullet accuracy
		"FireCone1"		"1" // Starting Value ( 0-20 )
		"FireConeLerp1"		"1" // Bool
		"FireConeLerpto1"	"5" // Value to lerp accuracy too ( 0-20 )

	// **Secondary Attack**

		// 0 = none, 1 = Basic Bullet, 2 = Burst, 3 = shotgun, 4 = autoshotgun, 5 = laser, 6 = warp, 8 = scope
		"FireType2"	"0"

		// Rate of Weapons Fire ( Not for laser or warp )
		"FireRate2"	"0.1"

		// Allow a refire as fast as the player can click, Basic Bullet Only.
		"FastFire2"	"0"

		// Allow Fire Underwater?
		"FireUnderWater2"	"0"

		// Secondary Fire uses Secondary Ammo Type. If 0, will use primary ammo.
		"SecondaryAmmoUsed"	"0"

		// For Bullet accuracy
		"FireCone2"		"1" // Starting Value ( 0-20 )
		"FireConeLerp2"		"1" // Bool
		"FireConeLerpto2"	"5" // Value to lerp accuracy too ( 0-20 )

	// ** Global Weapon Settings**

		 // Number of Recoil Animations, weapon models with ACT_VM_RECOIL animations.
		// ( Only if a weapon has recoil animations, Not for laser or warp )
		"NumberOfRecoilAnims"	"0"

		// Shots fired till next recoil animation. ( Only if a weapon has recoil animations )
		"RecoilIncrementSpeed"	"1"

		// 1 = Pistol, 2 = AR2, 3 = crossbow, 4 = physgun, 5 = shotgun, 6 = smg1
		// This is the player animation set that will be used on all players you view ingame.
		"PlayerAnimationSet"	"6"

		"UseScopedFireCone"	"1"
		"ScopedFireCone"	"1"
		"ScopedColorR"		"0"
		"ScopedColorG"		"0"
		"ScopedColorB"		"0"
	}
}


I used the aug script for an example because i couldnt find a tutorial on making a weapon

Posted: Thu Jul 15, 2010 6:48 pm
by fug4life
When you say 'select' them you mean you can't 'spawn' them (give custom_weapon)?

Or you can spawn them but cannot select the weapon from the weapon hud menu?

Also if you think a } is missing or something, then re copy the script and update it again to use your weapon settings. Thats if you want to be sure.

Posted: Thu Jul 15, 2010 7:10 pm
by ShadowX99
I copyed the aug script and placed it in my custom weapon script but it only solved my hud icon problem, and i ment to say is that i can spawn the weapon but i cant select it from my weapon hud menu

Posted: Thu Jul 15, 2010 7:17 pm
by fug4life
So to clarify, you can spawn the weapon. You can see the weapon hud icon?
Does the text (F2000) show red on the icon?

Posted: Thu Jul 15, 2010 7:19 pm
by ShadowX99
Yes it does say F2000 on the red icon

Posted: Thu Jul 15, 2010 9:33 pm
by fug4life
The only things I can suggest are change bucket&slot positions incase you're conflictin with somethin else.

Also you've given scoped settings but havent specified here:

// **Secondary Attack**

// 0 = none, 1 = Basic Bullet, 2 = Burst, 3 = shotgun, 4 = autoshotgun, 5 = laser, 6 = warp, 8 = scope
"FireType2" "0"

Either specify scope settings above and scope actually = 7 not 8

Or delete:

"UseScopedFireCone" "1"
"ScopedFireCone" "1"
"ScopedColorR" "0"
"ScopedColorG" "0"
"ScopedColorB" "0"

Thats all I can suggest to you :( Also make sure you're restarting the mod or renaming the script files when saving changes for the changes to take affect.

Posted: Thu Jul 15, 2010 10:48 pm
by ShadowX99
I tried your suggestions but they didnt work :( , but for some reason when i drop all my weapons it shows up but when i pick them back up i cant use it?

Posted: Thu Jul 15, 2010 11:14 pm
by fug4life
Try changing the name of the custom weapon script.

custom_f2000_new

or something.

Posted: Thu Jul 15, 2010 11:31 pm
by ShadowX99
That custom_f2000_new worked :D Now i can select from my weapons hud, now my only problems are the sound and the fact that the weapons is sticking out of my characters crotch

Posted: Fri Jul 16, 2010 12:10 am
by fug4life
The crotch issue, will need fixing in a modeling program.

Is the model just a css re-skin? or completely new model?

If it was a reskin I thought you may be able to use the skin and hex an exsisting converted cs weapon.

As for sound describe what you've done so far and I'll see if I can help.

Posted: Fri Jul 16, 2010 12:19 am
by ShadowX99
Well the weapon is a custom model, but i dont have any modeling programs
and for the sounds i used a txt i found in the folder

"weapon_F2000.Single"
{
"channel" "CHAN_WEAPON
"volume" "1.0"
"Compatibilityattenuation" "ATTN_NORM"
"Pitch" "PITCH_NORM"

"wave" "weapons\F2000\f2000-1.wav"
}

"Weapon_F2000.boltback"
{
"channel" "CHAN_ITEM"
"volume" "1.0"
"CompatibilityAttenuation" "1.0"
"pitch" "PITCH_NORM"

"wave" "weapons\F2000\f2000_boltback.wav"
}

"Weapon_F2000.magout"
{
"channel" "CHAN_ITEM"
"volume" "1.0"
"CompatibilityAttenuation" "1.0"
"pitch" "PITCH_NORM"

"wave" "weapons\F2000\f2000_magout.wav"
}

"Weapon_F2000.magin"
{
"channel" "CHAN_ITEM"
"volume" "1.0"
"CompatibilityAttenuation" "1.0"
"pitch" "PITCH_NORM"

"wave" "weapons\F2000\f2000_magin.wav"
}

"Weapon_F2000.boltforward"
{
"channel" "CHAN_ITEM"
"volume" "1.0"
"CompatibilityAttenuation" "1.0"
"pitch" "PITCH_NORM"

"wave" "weapons\F2000\f2000_boltforward.wav"
}

I placed it into game_sounds_cs_weapons

Posted: Fri Jul 16, 2010 12:48 am
by fug4life
as long as you placed at the bottom should be fine, I'd just check css is mounting correctly for you when you load a map or weapon.

Posted: Fri Jul 16, 2010 1:51 am
by ShadowX99
When i try adding the sounds to the bottom of the list and when i try to spawn it, it will disconect me and says theres a bad string or something?