Page 1 of 1
Map crashing problem!
Posted: Sat Mar 10, 2007 1:17 pm
by Bloomer
This part of the forum looks rather dead
Anyway, i was trying to make my own personal hl2 coop mod for me and a couple friends, and so far its gone wonderful. I'm using Microsoft Visual C++ 2005 Express. I've learned a lot from it, like how the AI works, weapons, hud, teams, etc etc.
I've fixed a lot of things, like the relations, weapons and animations but im still having a few problems. The helicopter bullets(in the canals levels) are invisable, and levels like d1_trainstation_01 ALWAYS crash. its does this in d1_towns_01 as well. same thing with trainstation_05, and the d1_eli_01(right when alyx is supposed to come in) and theres a few other levels, but its pointless to post them. How can I fix this?
Also, im using the MP code. Does anyone know how to(as asked in
http://www.obsidianconflict.com/forums/ ... highlight=) enable the whole "E to pickup objects" in multiplayer?
-Bloomer.

Posted: Mon Mar 12, 2007 7:08 am
by Bloomer
I Think i've found the problem, i just dont know how to fix it.
i get these errors
choreoobjects.lib(choreoactor.obj) : warning LNK4204: 'f:\mapslol\spmodSC\src\dlls\Release HL2\vc80.pdb' is missing debugging information for referencing module; linking object as if no debug info
choreoobjects.lib(choreochannel.obj) : warning LNK4204: 'f:\mapslol\spmodSC\src\dlls\Release HL2\vc80.pdb' is missing debugging information for referencing module; linking object as if no debug info
choreoobjects.lib(choreoevent.obj) : warning LNK4204: 'f:\mapslol\spmodSC\src\dlls\Release HL2\vc80.pdb' is missing debugging information for referencing module; linking object as if no debug info
choreoobjects.lib(choreoscene.obj) : warning LNK4204: 'f:\mapslol\spmodSC\src\dlls\Release HL2\vc80.pdb' is missing debugging information for referencing module; linking object as if no debug info
i really think it has something to do with the scenes. Becuase i edited d1_trainstation_01, took out the gman scene, and put the spawn point inside of the trainstation. I walk past a trigger that calls the scene, and i get the same type of crash i got when i try and load the original d1_trainstation_01
Any ideas?
Posted: Wed Mar 14, 2007 4:54 am
by skidz
Bloomer wrote:I Think i've found the problem, i just dont know how to fix it.
i get these errors
choreoobjects.lib(choreoactor.obj) : warning LNK4204: 'f:\mapslol\spmodSC\src\dlls\Release HL2\vc80.pdb' is missing debugging information for referencing module; linking object as if no debug info
choreoobjects.lib(choreochannel.obj) : warning LNK4204: 'f:\mapslol\spmodSC\src\dlls\Release HL2\vc80.pdb' is missing debugging information for referencing module; linking object as if no debug info
choreoobjects.lib(choreoevent.obj) : warning LNK4204: 'f:\mapslol\spmodSC\src\dlls\Release HL2\vc80.pdb' is missing debugging information for referencing module; linking object as if no debug info
choreoobjects.lib(choreoscene.obj) : warning LNK4204: 'f:\mapslol\spmodSC\src\dlls\Release HL2\vc80.pdb' is missing debugging information for referencing module; linking object as if no debug info
i really think it has something to do with the scenes. Becuase i edited d1_trainstation_01, took out the gman scene, and put the spawn point inside of the trainstation. I walk past a trigger that calls the scene, and i get the same type of crash i got when i try and load the original d1_trainstation_01
Any ideas?
Yea, we get those errors as well and they are un-important. You could fix them by recompiling those libraries.
Posted: Wed Mar 14, 2007 1:30 pm
by Bloomer
Are you saying thats the reason for the crash?
I'd really like to pin-point exactly what it is, so i can fix it and we can play.
EDIT: By the way, what does your sig mean?
Posted: Thu Mar 15, 2007 3:02 am
by skidz
Those shouldn't cause a crash, it is only telling you there is a lack of debug information from from objects. Valve should fix it someday.
Posted: Thu Mar 15, 2007 4:20 am
by Bloomer
Yeah
Well do you know if this is a coding problem? (yeah i tried google lol)
Or is it something in my mod i have forgotten to add?
It must have something to do with the scenes. Thats the ONLY time it crashes ;_;
Posted: Thu Mar 15, 2007 9:35 pm
by Bloomer
Nvm i think i got it. I never fixed any function calls....theres a sh$% load of them. im gonna be so pissed if this isnt the problem
