Archived Source Engine and Obsidian Tutorials.
skidz
Obsidian Gold
Posts: 3228 Joined: Mon May 29, 2006 6:36 am
Location: Maple Ridge, BC
Contact:
Post
by skidz » Mon Nov 06, 2006 5:47 pm
You could use a cfg script to turn lives mode on. Or you could change the worldspawn entity. cfg route is easier.
Take a look at oc_freezingpoint_cfg.txt
Setting mp_teamoverride to 1 will force teams on a map.
Lark
npc_advisor
Posts: 1077 Joined: Sat Jun 10, 2006 3:21 am
Location: Termina
Contact:
Post
by Lark » Mon Nov 06, 2006 7:13 pm
skidz wrote: You could use a cfg script to turn lives mode on. Or you could change the worldspawn entity. cfg route is easier.
Take a look at oc_freezingpoint_cfg.txt
Setting mp_teamoverride to 1 will force teams on a map.
I dont want teams just normal lives and I dont know how to turn them on but I also want to turn on hl1 style crossbow how would I add that?
Hyperjag3
npc_strider
Posts: 604 Joined: Mon May 29, 2006 8:54 am
Contact:
Post
by Hyperjag3 » Tue Nov 07, 2006 1:35 am
"mp_livesoverride"
{
"Force Lives Mode"
{ BOOL }
{ "0" }
}
"mp_numlives"
{
"Number of Lives"
{ NUMBER 0 99 }
{ "0" }
}
"mp_hl1crossbow"
{
"Half-Life 1 Style Crossbow"
{ BOOL }
{ "0" }
}
From settings.scr in the cfg directory.
Lark
npc_advisor
Posts: 1077 Joined: Sat Jun 10, 2006 3:21 am
Location: Termina
Contact:
Post
by Lark » Tue Nov 07, 2006 2:40 am
ok I think I get it so it should look like this right?
"oc_noamz"
{
mp_livesoverride "1"
mp_numlives "5"
mp_hl1crossbow "1"
}
Hyperjag3
npc_strider
Posts: 604 Joined: Mon May 29, 2006 8:54 am
Contact:
Post
by Hyperjag3 » Tue Nov 07, 2006 4:12 am
Yes, that should work fine.
Svanrog
Combine Rebel
Posts: 1319 Joined: Tue Jul 25, 2006 9:17 pm
Post
by Svanrog » Tue Nov 07, 2006 7:52 am
gtaiiilc wrote: ok I think I get it so it should look like this right?
"oc_noamz"
{
mp_livesoverride "1"
mp_numlives "5"
mp_hl1crossbow "1"
}
So this will force the map to always be played with lives, even if the server's settings are not set to lives game mode?
[JSC][GU]PREDATOR
Obsidian Premium
Posts: 1624 Joined: Mon May 29, 2006 12:06 pm
Post
by [JSC][GU]PREDATOR » Tue Nov 07, 2006 9:38 am
So what exactly happens when you run out of lives? do you just go into spectator or what?
Lark
npc_advisor
Posts: 1077 Joined: Sat Jun 10, 2006 3:21 am
Location: Termina
Contact:
Post
by Lark » Tue Nov 07, 2006 2:58 pm
[JSC][GU]PREDATOR wrote: So what exactly happens when you run out of lives? do you just go into spectator or what?
yes and I have made the first fan mapadd for a map they did not make!
skidz
Obsidian Gold
Posts: 3228 Joined: Mon May 29, 2006 6:36 am
Location: Maple Ridge, BC
Contact:
Post
by skidz » Tue Nov 07, 2006 4:25 pm
hmm, when everyone on the team runs out of lives the game ends. use the lives manager ent to give lives even to dead players.
Hyperjag3
npc_strider
Posts: 604 Joined: Mon May 29, 2006 8:54 am
Contact:
Post
by Hyperjag3 » Tue Nov 07, 2006 9:23 pm
I don't think there's currently support for reviving dead players
.
Svanrog
Combine Rebel
Posts: 1319 Joined: Tue Jul 25, 2006 9:17 pm
Post
by Svanrog » Tue Nov 07, 2006 9:31 pm
Will there be support in the future?
Hyperjag3
npc_strider
Posts: 604 Joined: Mon May 29, 2006 8:54 am
Contact:
Post
by Hyperjag3 » Wed Nov 08, 2006 12:05 am
It's next on my project list.
Lark
npc_advisor
Posts: 1077 Joined: Sat Jun 10, 2006 3:21 am
Location: Termina
Contact:
Post
by Lark » Wed Nov 08, 2006 1:31 am
Hyperjag3 wrote: It's next on my project list.
what about being able to turn off head crabs comeing off(off the dead body and as a live npc)
Shana
Lead Developer
Posts: 2971 Joined: Tue Aug 29, 2006 8:12 pm
Location: Germany
Contact:
Post
by Shana » Fri Nov 10, 2006 1:39 am
i have a problem: i removed a point_servercomand entitie with the name "restart"(it changed the map to antlion_troppers2), i changed the outputs of a trigger_once and i tried to add a game end_entitie, but it doesn´t work.
Code: Select all
kanny_lockdown
{
remove
{
Targetname
{
"Restart" {}
}
Modify
{
Origin
{
"-3424 6042 66"
{
connections
{
"OnTrigger" "end,EndGame,,0,-1"
}
Add
{
"game_end"
{
"targetname" "end"
"origin" "-3426 6045 67"
}
}
}
whats wrong with it?
skidz
Obsidian Gold
Posts: 3228 Joined: Mon May 29, 2006 6:36 am
Location: Maple Ridge, BC
Contact:
Post
by skidz » Fri Nov 10, 2006 2:14 am
I dont believe
connections
{
"OnTrigger" "end,EndGame,,0,-1"
}
is the way it works, only in vmf files. I cant remember the line used to add.
Code: Select all
Modify
{
Origin
{
"-3424 6042 66"
{
//everything should be in there.
}
}
}
Let me get back to you about how to use outputs.